Another good experience


Following hard on the heels of my good experience cancelling my Sky subscription (i.e. only 2 years after) comes another successful conversation with a “retention team”, this time at Orange.

You don’t hear much good about Orange, and certainly my user experience of their services has been pretty ordinary in the 10 years or more I have been a customer of theirs. But credit where it’s due – I just got a Porting Authorisation Code (PAC) from them in exactly 10 minutes.

The gentleman asked me why I was leaving Orange. I said because of generally high prices and because if I joined the same network as my wife we could get free calls to each other. He asked me if an offer of reduced prices would tempt me to stay. I said no, it would make me angry because it would imply they had been abusing my loyalty for 10 years or more. He had obviously heard the same comments before and completely accepted what I said.

I think its only fair to write about good customer service when it happens. Twice in two years, eh?

Now if I can just get Tower Hamlets to empty my waste food recycling bin I will be happy.

2 Responses to “Another good experience”


  1. 1 Dominic Sayers February 13, 2009 at 11:51

    Some updates:

    1. Tower Hamlets have emptied my food waste recycling bin! The power of the blog!

    2. Vodafone won’t accept my PAC for an existing account. They want me to open another, new, account for my old Orange number. This makes me angry. There’s no technical reason to stop them doing it – they just don’t want to. I called OfCom and they are perfectly entitled to do this. I hate OfCom too now.


  1. 1 Bailey Trackback on March 8, 2009 at 19:03

Leave a Reply

