Eyebrow-raising Firefox problem


I’ve come across a problem with a website I’m developing. My nifty code works fine for all browsers except Firefox. Yes, that’s right – Firefox fails to render the page as intended but Chrome, Internet Explorer, Safari and Opera all work fine.

I’ve put a demonstration of the problem here.

I’m surprised that Firefox behaves so differently from other browsers. We all know which browsers we think are non-standards-compliant. If I’d been posting this about an Internet Explorer behaviour then I wouldn’t have expected any surprise or sympathy. But Firefox. I’m getting cramp in my eyebrows – they’ve been permanently raised since I discovered this.

I’m hoping there’s a way I can code round the problem. The latest version of Firefox (3.0.2) still exhibits this odd behaviour.

2 Responses to “Eyebrow-raising Firefox problem”


  1. 1 Dominic Sayers September 24, 2008 at 15:49

    Much obliged, Sig. At least I know where to look now. Cheers!

  2. 2 sig September 24, 2008 at 15:00

    Hi Dominic,

    sent you a direct tweet, but here are some more details:

    It seems that it is FireFox and latest nightly from Webkit that are right – and standard.

    Safari (did not test in the other mentioned) notes the error (layout.php sent as mime/text) but assumes it being CSS, thus displaying properly. Still it’s an error, and one that only not truly standard compliant ones will display well.

    It smacks of a header problem – in the webserver probably. Apache? Set it to handle php properly?

    Sig


Leave a Reply

