Managing my reading lists


Steve Patrick, who clearly has my education as a personal mission, has recommended another couple of books (for which I thank him).

I’ve added them to the lists. By the way, the idea of storing del.icio.us tags in del.icio.us itself is a fabulous one which I can see all sorts of uses for. I am very pleased with my list of lists.

Now, Steve’s comment raises a couple of points of order. Firstly, one of the books is a work of fiction. You (o erudite reader) might think that some of the other books on my lists are works of fiction too but I haven’t read them so I can’t say that yet. This has led me to open a new category, fiction I should read. Hopefully it won’t get too long too soon.

Secondly, Sean Park suggested that one of the books on my list wasn’t very good so I gave it a “deprecated” category – not removing it from the list altogether but perhaps putting it to the end of the queue. Steve Patrick disagrees with this assessment and thinks it should be restored to its rightful place. How do I deal with this?

I’ve decided to use the Charmed principle. Steve cannot remove a spell that somebody else has cast on him. Sean either has to remove it himself or another witch needs to cast a reverse spell. Them’s the rules.

If you want Traders, Guns and Money restored to its place on the list then let me know.

Footnote: I don’t think I could manage my reading lists this well using LibraryThing, Google Books or Facebook’s Visual Bookshelf. Using del.icio.us is really quick and easy and does everything I need. The book-specific tools want me to do things in a particular way but del.icio.us is general and universal.

3 Responses to “Managing my reading lists”


  1. 1 Dominic Sayers September 21, 2007 at 09:57

    OK, I’ll add these two counter-spells to ward off Sean’s curse.

  2. 2 decster September 18, 2007 at 08:23

    I read Traders, Guns and Money more for its cautionary anecdotes than as an attempt to learn more about how derivatives work. The author’s Australian frankness is refreshing and makes for an enjoyable read for the layman such as myself.

    Speaking of financial anecdotes, might I recommend “The City: A Guide to London’s Global Financial Centre” from the folks at The Economist. The book includes an appendix detailing various financial crises from the South Sea Bubble to the Orange County Default. It makes for interesting reading.

  3. 3 Chris Hind September 12, 2007 at 11:07

    I liked Traders, Guns and Money. I’d be very interested in why Sean didn’t!


Leave a Reply

