Book lists


I’ve been using del.icio.us to manage my reading lists (I still have some minor issues with LibraryThing). You may have noticed the links on the right of this page.

Having now finished The Long Tail and Barbarians At The Gate the list of Books I Should Have Read is starting to look manageable. I’m considering whether to add The Cluetrain Manifesto to the list, but I fear I will have a similar reaction to No Logo (which I ended up hurling across the room). This is malice aforethought, though. I will add it and start it and only abandon it if it confirms my prejudice.

State of play:
Books I should have read: still unread, now under my belt, abandoned
Books I have been recommended to read: still unreadwarned off.

I’m not doing book reviews here because there are better places to put them, but I heartily recommend both The Long Tail and Barbarians At The Gate. I liked The Long Tail because it actually contains some supporting evidence for its theories (unlike The Tipping Point which seemed to be based entirely on anecdotes). I liked Barbarians At The Gate because I like thrillers and I haven’t read one for a while. The fact that the events actually happened just makes it more gripping.

2 Responses to “Book lists”


  1. 1 Steve September 11, 2007 at 16:38

    Although I received a minus 1 for Traders, Guns and Money I stick by it for non traders like myself (sorry Sean :)
    anyway a couple more worthwhile reads

    Myths of innovation by Scott Berkun is enjoyable and quick
    Soon I will Be Invincible by Austin Grossman – surely soon to be a cult classic

    Happy reading


  1. 1 Managing my reading lists « Dominic Sayers Trackback on September 12, 2007 at 10:30

Leave a Reply

