Books I should have read, update


OK, here’s where I stand on my background task of catching up on the books everybody else claims to have read.

1. The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference, Malcolm Gladwell  (just finished this on my way back from holiday in Spain. Still pondering what I think of it, but at least I can now say with hand on heart that I have actually read it. Good holiday read if nothing else, not too taxing)
2. Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking, Malcolm Gladwell
3. The Wisdom of Crowds, James Surowiecki
4. The Cathedral & the Bazaar, Eric S. Raymond
5. The Mythical Man Month, Frederick P. Brooks (purchased but not opened yet)
6. Liar’s Poker, Michael Lewis (under way, again easy reading)

I have had some recommendations from friends and colleagues for which I am very grateful. Thanks Jonathan, Steve and Malcolm. I’ve added Jonathan’s to the list because it met all my criteria. Steve and Malcolm’s I will add to another list:

Books I have been recommended to read
1. The God Delusion, Richard Dawkins (now in paperback I see)
2. Tricks of the Mind, Derren Brown

I like the sound of both of them and will do my best to get to them in time. Come on, there must be more non-fiction classics I haven’t thought of yet – what have I missed?

1 Response to “Books I should have read, update”


  1. 1 Dominic Sayers May 8, 2007 at 15:04

    I also like the sound of The Elegant Solution: Toyota’s Formula for Mastering Innovation which Malcolm also speaks highly of. It sounds right up my street but perhaps is too new to be on my classics list. I will try to get to it anyway.

    I also need to add Chris Anderson’s The Long Tail: How Endless Choice Is Creating Unlimited Demand and, of course, The Innovator’s Dilemma: When New Technologies Cause Great Firms to Fail by Clayton Christensen to my list of classics.


Leave a Reply

