Books I should have read: update


Forgot an obvious one:

1. The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference, Malcolm Gladwell
2. Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking, Malcolm Gladwell
3. The Wisdom of Crowds, James Surowiecki
4. The Cathedral & the Bazaar, Eric S. Raymond

And there’s also a short list of books I thought I should read but got annoyed with and threw across the room, starting with:

1. No Logo, Naomi Klein

Irritating beyond belief.

Of course I haven’t got anywhere near reading anything from the top list although I did buy The Tipping Point. Now gathering dust on the side table that is the physical embodiment of the Books I Should Have Read list.

5 Responses to “Books I should have read: update”


  1. 1 Malcolm November 24, 2006 at 11:23

    I would add Tricks of the Mind by Derren Brown (in which he pays respect to The God Delusion). I will probably write something when I finish the book but only a few pages in and already it is astonishing (if you can wear his peculiar attempts at humour).

    Using one of his techniques I memorised a random list of 13 words last night and can still write them down straight off the bat this morning. Forthwith, I shall now be practicing the “loci” technique as recommended by Mr Brown and used by Hannibal Lecter.

  2. 2 Dominic Sayers November 23, 2006 at 09:37

    Thanks Steve.

    If something is in me which can be called religious, then it is the unbounded admiration for the structure of the world so far as our science can reveal it.

    – Albert Einstein

  3. 3 Steve Patrick November 22, 2006 at 18:41

    I’d recommend The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins, an excellent argument against creationism, although I’m a big believer in Darwin and evolutionism so a lot of this was just confirming my views anyway.

  4. 4 Dominic Sayers November 20, 2006 at 12:39

    Hi Jonathan.

    I am guilty of not having read it on the grounds that I think I know what it says. This is arrogant beyond reason and I will add it to my list.

  5. 5 Jonathan November 19, 2006 at 16:57

    Have you read The Mythical Man Month? Interesting to read something written so many years ago and recently updated (1995). Even today, it makes many observation which hold true.


Leave a Reply

