The most expensive pint in London?


This is real.

Receipt for £4.60

And, credit where it’s due, she said this with a straight face as she gave me my drink. If this was a bar in a West End hotel then I might not be surprised at the price. But it isn’t, it’s a regular bar in the City. It’s not as if there aren’t plenty of other bars in EC2, some charging as little as £3 a pint. There weren’t even any celebrities in there.

The most shocking thing is that the VAT on this drink is more than the entire price of a pint back in my student union days in Gower Street.

8 Responses to “The most expensive pint in London?”


  1. 1 Simon January 26, 2009 at 09:59

    But was it a good pint or not?

    Re “… the VAT on this drink is more than the entire price of a pint back in my student union days”

    & more than twice the price of the first pint I bought at my local Rugby Club … AND they appear to be employing children as policemen!

    Damn … I hadn’t planned on getting older.

  2. 3 spirit September 10, 2006 at 17:07

    It’s only expensive because they apply “Ponce Tax” to cider.

  3. 4 mushyp August 28, 2006 at 09:48

    And don’t even start me on the City’s most expensive pistachios.

  4. 5 decster August 17, 2006 at 19:46

    Having watched you drink the City’s Most Expensive pint, I fear you may already have lost the moral high ground on this one.


  1. 1 OK then « Dominic Sayers Trackback on April 17, 2007 at 10:50
  2. 2 Why do I attract weirdos? « Mushy’s Mumblings Trackback on October 17, 2006 at 11:48
  3. 3 City rip-off « Decster’s Blog Trackback on September 9, 2006 at 09:42

Leave a Reply

