Cockchafer


I haven’t posted about critters for a while. Here is a scary one I found in my garden a couple of weeks ago (the beast was as big as my thumb):

Cockchafer

I thought it might be some kind of notifiable pest so I took a few photos of it.

Turns out it is a Cockchafer and fairly common. First time I’ve seen one though. And I wouldn’t fancy one flying into me at dusk thanks very much.

Thanks to Rob for identifying it. Here are all its friends and relations on Flickr.

3 Responses to “Cockchafer”


  1. 2 Isabella Snow June 10, 2006 at 23:40

    We call that a Junebug in the US. Probably because we aren’t clever enough to look the real name up. :)


  1. 1 Accidental Light » Flying Ant Day Trackback on July 23, 2006 at 18:35

Leave a Reply

