Books I should have read


For no other reason than self-flagellation I’m going to start a list of books I should have read. Hopefully this will provoke me to get on with it. Worse, I have copies of some of these and have still not got round to reading them. I will also note the must-read books I started then gave up on.

Some of these may date quickly. If I’d been compiling this list in the 70s I would probably feel I had to read The One-Minute Manager and stuff like that. Hey, there’s another list! Books that are no longer required reading! The Mythical Man-Month, Men Are From Mars Women Are From Venus, etc. etc. If I procrastinate long enough many of the books on my list will drop off due to no longer being trendy (No Logo springs to mind as a candidate).

How can I manage this list? I would like other people to prioritise them for me since I am unlikely to be able to read them all anytime soon. Which do you recommend?

Where is the last.fm for books?

1. The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference, Malcolm Gladwell
2. Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking, Malcolm Gladwell
3. The Wisdom of Crowds, James Surowiecki

Many, many more to come.

4 Responses to “Books I should have read”


  1. 1 Stu May 9, 2006 at 18:46

    Dom — I also have a daunting ‘to read’ list so was interested to stumble upon http://www.getabstract.com which seems to be a kind of cliff’s notes for business books. Maybe there are other similar services?

    It costs though so I haven’t subscribed but will add it to my ‘to subscribe to’ list…

    Is there some open-source community/biz model for sharing self-written precis of books I wonder?

  2. 2 dominicsayers April 21, 2006 at 16:08

    Still no reply from Tim Spalding although he seems to be very active in other respects.

  3. 3 Dominic April 7, 2006 at 11:42

    I love LibraryThing and have started using it. I have emailed Tim Spalding to ask if he can add an RSS feed for a particular user and a particular tag. This would enable me to subscribe to my own Recommended list and my own ToDo list (and anybody could if they were interested).–>


Leave a Reply

