Feed tagging


I’ve just had a doh! moment.

I consume a lot of syndicated feeds in my aggregator, maybe 150 or so. I haven’t counted them, I’m not a mental.

Being ever so slightly towards the Aspergers end of the autism spectrum, I have carefully organised these feeds into a set of folders. My aggregator encourages me to do this and it successfully allows me to pick and choose what I read when time is tight (ain’t it always).

For example, I divide the incoming feeds into Internal and External: the Internal ones are coming from intranet pages at my place of work. The External ones are divided into categories such as Technology, Humour, Cat Photos etc.

As I add more feeds (and I seem to add more than I can remove) this folder structure gets more labyrinthine. And it just occurred to me I wrote a blog post two days ago about what a stupid way this is to organise information.

So, aggregator developers, where are your Web 2.0 credentials? I want an aggregator that lets me add tags to each feed instead of organising them into folders. Then I can slice and dice my feeds any way I want. No more forcing them into a single taxonomy. The Technology feeds can be both Internal and External.

Imagine an aggregator with a tag cloud as part of its main user interface. The tags show which feed categories have unread posts. The size of the tag indicates how many unread posts there are in that category. Clicking on the tag takes me to all the unread posts from feeds with that tag. Simple.

0 Responses to “Feed tagging”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

