Mysterious grebes in Limehouse Cut


One grebe

On my way to work, I saw these birds in Limehouse Cut on Friday morning.

Let’s be clear, I know nothing about birds. To my untutored eye they seemed to be some sort of grebe, but not really like the grebes I can see on the RSPB website.

Two grebes

In the second picture the bird on the right is looking very pleased with itself as it has just eaten a little fishy. The fact that there are fish in Limehouse Cut is startling in itself.

I’m sure these are quite common birds, but it was a life-enhancing experience watching them for a moment.

0 Responses to “Mysterious grebes in Limehouse Cut”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

