Subscription to ft.com


[Note: this post gets a lot of traffic, presumably because ft.com is still a bit difficult to unsubscribe from. Please note that it was written several years ago and their subscription model has changed a bit since then. Please don’t take this as a guide to the current process]

I was trying to get the text of an article on ft.com, which is a subscription-only site. Being a cheapskate I thought I would take out a 15-day free trial subscription rather than pay £75 for a year.

I signed up for the site and of course I had to give them my credit card details. I was expecting this and wasn’t surprised. They said they would begin to debit my card once my 15-day free period had ended. I was also reassured by the message on the signup page that I could cancel my subscription at any time by clicking on Edit Your Profile.

Having gone through the registration process and logged in I immediately clicked on the Edit Your Profile link to cancel my subscription. I then clicked on Cancel My Subscription.

You guessed it: the next page said “To cancel your subscription please call this number: 020 xxxx xxxx”. There is no reason why this process could not have been made electronic. The only reason for forcing people to speak to a human is to add an extra hurdle to cancelling your subscription and, maybe, to give them a chance to change your mind.

I spoke to their telemarketer and cancelled my subscription. He didn’t bother trying to change my mind. What a waste of time, mine and theirs. How much must it cost to keep a squadron of telemarketers on call just to cancel people’s subscriptions? What a soul-destroying job for them.

I now feel ill-disposed towards ft.com because of the deception involved. Their marketing tactics have been counter-productive as far as I’m concerned.

6 Responses to “Subscription to ft.com”


  1. 1 Dominic Sayers September 25, 2007 at 17:45

    This post does seem to attract the wackos.

  2. 2 Visitor655 September 24, 2007 at 20:08

    I have visited your site 367-times

  3. 4 Wang Chung June 24, 2007 at 16:59

    Fack you man

  4. 6 Peter June 7, 2007 at 12:08

    What a whiney wanker you are…


Leave a Reply

