108633948588156512


I found Leo Sayer’s phone number

Trying a shirt on in Selfridge’s the other day, I noticed a scrap of paper on the floor. Looking closer, I realised it wasn’t attached to my prospective shirt but must have previously fallen off some other garment. Looking closer still, I realised it had Leo Sayer’s mobile phone number written on it.

Leo Sayer's number scribbled on a Selfridge's receipt

You’ll note I’ve deployed the Crimewatch filter in Photoshop to pixellate the number.

Now there could be several Leo Sayers out there, but I doubt there are many. Even in a city of 12m+, I reckon there’s only one Leo Sayer. Only one Leo Sayer likely to be in the men’s clothing department of Selfridge’s … So imagine the sheer visceral thrill of holding the mobile number of the man personally responsible for monster hits “You Make Me Feel Like Dancing” (No.2 Oct 1976) and “When I Need You” (No.1 Jan 1977). Amongst others. Visceral, I tell you.

[Have to say, it doesn’t reflect awfully well on Selfridge’s understanding of personal privacy … another twist on the old adage about your credit card number being more likely to ripped off via restaurant receipts than from the internet …]

Obviously, after vaguely wondering about how much I’d get for it on eBay and then briefly toying with the idea of giving him a ring (just to mess with his mind), I’ve decided to respect Mr. Sayer’s privacy by destroying the original – so don’t try to get in touch, Leo-fans. Boy, is this going to generate some confused looking arrivals referred from Google …

0 Responses to “108633948588156512”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

